The gametogenesis is the process of gamete formation in the sexual reproducing animals. The sexually reproducing animals contain two types of cells in their body: Somatic cells and germinal cells. Both types of cells have diploid number of chromosome but each type has its different destiny. The somatic cells form various organs of the body. The somatic cells always multiply by mitotic division. The germinal cells present in germinal epithelium of gonads (Testis and Ovary). The germinal cells form gametes by mitotic and meiotic division.

  • There are two types of gametogenesis: Spermatogenesis and Oogenesis.
  • Spermatogenesis takes place in testis of male and Oogenesis takes place in ovary of female.
  • Gametogenesis is controlled by gonadotrophic hormones (FSH, LH, ICSH etc.) secreted by pituitary gland.
  • Gametogenesis takes place in three stages: Multiplication phase, Growth phase and Maturation phase.

Types of Gametogenesis

  1. Spermatogenesis
  2. Oogenesis.

Dharmendra Gaur

Dharmendra Gaur (Msc. Zoology) aka DRGP. I love to learn and teach biology. By this blog I want to increase my knowledge and share my knowledge with others. Feel free to ask what ever you want to ask related to biology, I try my best to help you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *