Kingdom-Plantae includes eukaryotic, autotrophic or photosynthetic and non-motile organisms. They have well defined cellulosic cell wall. Plastids are present. Plant kingdom include five major plant groups i.e., Algae, Bryophyta, Pteridophyta, Gymnosperms and Angiosperms as proposed by R.H. Whittaker.

Characteristics Feature Of Kingdom-Plantae

  1. This kingdom includes plants which are multicellular eukaryotes.
  2. All plants contain plastids. Plastids are double membrane organelle that posses photosynthetic pigments. They are called chloroplasts.
  3. They are usually autotrophic. Chloroplast contains a green colour pigment called chlorophyll and prepares its own food by the process of photosynthesis.
  4. The cell walls possess mainly cellulose.
  5. The plant body may be thalloid or differentiated into root, stem and leaves.
  6. They may be non-vascular or vascular.
  7. They have two stages in their life cycle- a haploid and a diploid. Haploid stage is sexually reproducing gametophytic generation and diploid stage is asexually reproducing sporophytic generation. The two generation alternate. This is called alternation of generation.

Classification Of Kingdom-plantae

Classification of Kingdom-plantae has many levels.
  1. Differentiation of plant body parts.
  2. Presence of Vascular System
  3. Presence of seed
  4. Covering of seed
  5. Number of Cotyledons.



1. Algae
2. Bryophyta
3. Pteridophyta
4. Gymnosperm
5. Angiosperm
6. Plant Life Cycles and Alternation of Generations

Dharmendra Gaur

Dharmendra Gaur (Msc. Zoology) aka DRGP. I love to learn and teach biology. By this blog I want to increase my knowledge and share my knowledge with others. Feel free to ask what ever you want to ask related to biology, I try my best to help you.

2 thoughts to “Kingdom-Plantae”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *